Modi takes oath as PM, 45 Ministers also sworn in

Starting his day by paying his repects to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat in the morning, Mr. Narendra Modi on Monday took the oath of office as India’s 15th prime minister in a high-profile ceremony attended by top leaders of neighbour countries, say media reports from India..

Dressed in a white full sleeve kurta, a beige waistcoat and a white pajama, Modi arrived at Rashtrapati Bhawan for the event around 6pm.

A day after the PM designate’s office indicated a smaller size of the next government and clubbing of ministries for smarter governance, a total of 44 ministers excluding Modi will also be sworn in, according to sources.

The list of ministers reportedly include leaders such as Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari, Sushma Swaraj and former army chief Gen VK Singh.

The list was dispatched to Rashtrapati Bhawan earlier in the day.

MOdi taking oath as PM
MOdi taking oath as PM

There would be 24 cabinet ministers comprising former BJP presidents Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh and Venkaiah Naidu, senior party leaders Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley, LJP’s Ramvilas Paswan, Delhi BJP chief Harsh Vardhan and former union minister Maneka Gandhi, sources added.

There will be 10 ministers of state with independent charge, including former VK Singh and BJP MPs Santosh Gangwar, Prakash Javadekar and Piyush Goel.

The 11 ministers of state include Upendra Kushwaha, Kiran Rijju and Sanjeev Kumar.

Cabinet Ministers
Narendra Modi, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari, M Venkiah Naidu, DV Sadanand Gowda, Ram Vilas Paswan, Gopinath Munde, Kalraj Mishra, Maneka Gandhi, Ananth Kumar, Ravishankar Prasad, Ashok Gadpati Raju, Ananth Geete, Harsimarat Kaur, Narendra Singh Tomar, Juall Oram, Thavarchand Gehlot, Smriti Irani, Uma Bharti, Najma Heptullah, Radha Mohan Singh, Dr Harsh Vardhan

MoS (Independent charge)
Gen (retd) VK Singh, Santosh Gangwar, Sripad Naik, Dharmendra Pradhan, Sarbanand Sonwal, Prakash Javdekar, Piyush Goel, Jitendra Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Rao Inderjeetministers

GM Siddeshwara, Manoj Sinha, Upendra Kushwaha, Radhakrishnan P, Kiren Rijuju, Krishan Pal Gujjar, Sanjeev Kumar Balyan, Mansukhbhai Baswa, Rao Sahab Danwe, Vishnudev Sai, Sudarshan Bhagat

Although the portfolios are not announced yet but according to TV reports,  the following ministers are likely to get the following portfolios:

Sumitra Mahajan – Speaker
Piyush Goyal – Oil and Power
Ravi Shankar Prasad – Law & Telecom
Nitin Gadkari  – Transport
Smriti Irani – HRD
Venkaiah Naidu – Agriculture
Arun Jaitley – Finance, with additional charge of Defence
Nirmala Sitharaman – Commerce

Ahead of the oath-taking ceremony, Modi had indicated he would not like to have a large cabinet, and that the focus would be on consolidation of portfolios.

“Keeping our commitment to ‘Minimum Government, Maximum Governance’ — we have made an unprecedented and positive change in ministry formation,” he had tweeted late on Sunday.

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif arrived in New Delhi to attend Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

“Pakistan wants good relations with India and I am going to New Delhi with a ‘message of peace'”, Sharif was quoted as saying by the PTI before he left Pakistan.

Modi and Sharif will have a “short, courtesy” meeting on the morning of May 27 and are expected to steer clear of any acrimonious issues leaving long-standing disputes to be tackled in later formal bilateral talks.

The Pakistan PM is accompanied by wife Kulsoom Nawaz and son Hussain Nawaz.

Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa also arrived in New Delhi for Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

Rajapaksa, a nationalistic leader, was among the first leaders to reach out to Modi after election victory. But after an invitation was extended to him, Tamil Nadu erupted in protest.


Share this :

About Ashok Kumar

Ashok Kumar is an accomplished journalist with over 38 years of experience in the profession in various capacities. He was a sub-editor in Patriot and later Chief Sub-editor in The Hindustan Times, New Delhi. He has several published articles and reports in Patriot and HT. Published reports in The Blacktown Sun in Sydney. He had also been a tutor in journalism in the University of Western Sydney. He is currently Editor at The Indian Sub-continent Times, Sydney.

View all posts by Ashok Kumar →

One Comment on “Modi takes oath as PM, 45 Ministers also sworn in”

  1. Employees are becoming quicker, more creative, and efficient workers by adapting to the
    trend of technology in the workplace. With Eclipse, professionals can offer an advanced custom product with greater comfort and without the occlusion effect—providing a clear differentiation from the
    myriad of standard offerings in the market. Judgement how
    technology works can be a dispute for some while for others it can be to some an enjoyable blame.

Leave a Reply